Umpire Training
OHSAA FASTPITCH SOFTBALL QUESTIONS, PLAYS AND SITUATIONS
On this page, we have listed a number of questions, plays and situations that have come up during the OHSAA Fastpitch Softball Season. Most of these were first published in the 2025 OHSAA Softball Bulletins.
- Question – With our school colors being blue and white, our first base double bag has been blue. We hosted a scrimmage the other night and the official was unsure if we are able to use that. Ruling – The blue/white base is fine. NFHS Rule 1-2-1 Note includes “The base in foul territory shall be a color other than white.”
- PLAY: With R1 on third base in a) B2 with no outs and b) B4 with two outs, bunts the ball and runs to first base. In both cases the batter-runner has reached the three-foot running lane (more than halfway to first base) but both feet last touched the ground completely outside the lane when the batter-runner is hit with the throw hindering F4 from taking the throw at first base. R1 was off with the pitch and in both cases has touched home plate prior to the interference. RULING: In both cases when interference occurs the ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and all runner(s) must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. In this case the last base touched by R1 at the time of the interference was home plate. In a) the run would score. In b) since the third out of the inning was made by the batter-runner before touching first base the run would not score. (2-31, 2-60, 8-2-6, 9-1-1 Exception (a)
- Question – What is the proper mechanic for an illegal pitch call when the pitcher does an action that is an illegal pitch as she is stepping onto the pitcher’s plate? For example, hands together as she steps onto the pitcher’s plate? Answer – When an illegal pitch is detected the umpire shall verbally call “illegal pitch” and signal delayed dead ball with the left arm. After completion of the pitch or play the umpire will call time (dead ball must follow a delayed dead ball), announce that there was an illegal pitch and enforce the penalty unless (1) the batter reaches first base and each other runner advances at least one base or (2) if all runners do not advance one base safely the coach of the offense shall have the option of the result of the play or enforcing the penalty for the illegal pitch. (Rule 6-1-1 Penalty)
- Question – What is the proper mechanic for calling obstruction? Answer – When obstruction occurs the umpire shall verbally call “obstruction” and signal delayed dead ball with the left arm. After completion of the pitch or play the umpire will call time (dead ball must follow a delayed dead ball), announce that there was obstruction and enforce the penalty indicated by rule. This process should be followed each time obstruction is called – even if the runner is not being awarded an additional base. Failing to make this call every time simply encourages the defense to continue to violate and ultimately can get the umpire in trouble. By making this call the defense is aware that the rule has been violated and allows them to adjust their play to avoid additional violations. (Rule 8-4-3b Penalty)
- Situation – Defensive team is using a digital board in the dugout to relay pitch calls to the entire defense. I would look at this the same way as if they had a white erase board and wrote a pitch number down every pitch and showed it to the field. Ruling – This is correct – there are many ways that signals can be relayed to those on the field – hand signals, verbal calls (numeric or other), signs, legal electronic communication to the catcher on defense, and more. Probably the most effective signals are those that are not noticed.
- Situation – Team A is at bat when B1 hits a fly ball that leaves the playing area in fair territory without touching the ground. As B1 is almost to second base they see the ball clear the fence and begin celebrating as this is their first home run. As they are jumping up and down, they do not touch second base, they then continue on around the bases touching third base and home plate. After touching home plate, a teammate tells them they missed second base and B1 retouches home plate then third base on their way to touch second base. After touching second base, they then legally retouch third base and home plate. Team B then appeals B1 missing second base saying the runner cannot return to touch a missed base after they have scored. The umpires agree and call B1 out and negates the run. RULING: Incorrect ruling by the umpires. A runner may return to touch a missed base until a following runner has scored or they leave the field of play. Since neither of these items occurred B1 can return to touch second base as long as they retouch the bases in reverse order. There are other areas in the rules where a runner cannot return if they have reached a base beyond the base missed but those apply to a situation where the runner is awarded bases for a violation by the defense (obstruction or actions resulting in the ball going out of play) or on a caught fly ball, neither apply to this situation. (2-1-6, 8-3-1, 8-3-2, 8-3-9, 8-4-3f)
- Situation – In the third inning Team A has R1 on third base, R2 on first base and one out, B4 bunts a ball that goes off the bat into the air. F1 dives and catches the ball as they fall to the ground. As they are almost to the ground they are reaching inside the mitt to get the ball to throw to first base as R2 was off with the pitch and there is the chance of a double play. As they reach for the ball at the same time they are pushing to get up, the ball slips from their hand and they fall back to the ground with the ball ending up beside their glove. Team A’s coach insists that this is not a catch as the fielder lost control of the ball as they fell to the ground. The umpire rules that in their judgement F1 gained control of the ball making the catch and dropped the ball while attempting to transfer it to the throwing hand. This results in B4 being out. RULING: Correct ruling. If the umpire judges that the fielder securely gained possession of the ball and then dropped the ball either in transferring it to the throwing hand or in making the throw the ball shall be ruled caught. (2-9-3)
- Situation – Team A is at bat with B1 in the left-hand batter’s box and they square to bunt with their left foot in the front corner of the batter’s box closest to home plate. As the ball comes off the bat it hits B1’s left foot that is still on the ground completely in the batter’s box. The umpire rules this a dead ball and the batter-runner out for contacting a fair batted ball before reaching first base. Team A’s coach argues that the ball hit the batter in the batter’s box so it should be ruled a foul ball. The umpire rules that since the batter’s foot was in the part of the batter’s box that is in fair territory when contact was made that the ball is fair, and the batter becomes a batter-runner since they have hit a fair ball. Also they are out for contacting the batted ball prior to reaching first base. RULING: Incorrect ruling by the umpire. When the ball touches the batter while the batter is still within the batter’s box it is a foul ball. Since the ball is foul by rule then the batter has not become a batter-runner and has not violated the rule for contacting the ball prior to reaching first base. Unless the batter had two strikes when they bunted the ball foul, the batter remains at bat with a strike added to their count. (2-24-1f, 2-64, 7-4-9, 8- 1-1a, 8-2-7e)
- Situation – With R1 on second base and no outs, B2 hits a deep base hit that gets past the outfielders and ends up at the fence. R1 rounds third base and is obstructed by F5 and falls to the ground. In a) the third base coach seeing R1 on the ground and the ball still at the fence grabs R1 and helps them back to their feet. The umpire rules R1 out for being physically assisted and allows play to continue. In b) F8 retrieves the ball and returns the ball to F1 in the circle with B2 standing on second base and R1 is still laying on the ground unable to get back to their feet. The umpire rules R1 out for violating the look-back rule for not immediately advancing toward home or returning to third base. RULING: Incorrect ruling in both cases. When R1 is obstructed, the umpire should signal a delayed dead ball and verbalize “obstruction”. Since the obstruction occurred between third base and home plate the runner cannot be called out between these two bases unless they violate one of the six exceptions listed in 8-4-3b Penalties 1 Exceptions. In a) when a runner is physically assisted by an offensive team member, other than another runner, typically the ball remains in play and the runner is called out (live ball out). In this case since the runner that was assisted is still between the two bases where they were obstructed and has been put out for being physically assisted the ball becomes dead. Since the runner is still between the two bases where they were obstructed, they may not be called out unless they violate one of the listed exceptions. A runner being physically assisted is not one of these exceptions allowing a runner to be called out. So when the obstructed runner is put out the ball becomes dead and the umpire would award the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire’s judgement, had there not been obstruction. Similarly in b) violating the look-back rule is not an exception allowing the runner to be put out between the two bases where they were obstructed. When the runner violated the look-back rule the ball becomes dead and the umpire would award the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire’s judgement, had there not been obstruction. (8-4-3b Penalties 1 Exceptions, 8-6-5, 8-7-2)
- Play – Runners on 1st and 2nd, B7 hits a ball over the fence for a home run. As the batter nears second base, the runner who was on 1st, turns around and gives her a high five but the batter doesn’t pass her. Ruling – This is not passing or assisting a runner – please review rules 8-6-4 & 5.
- Play – F1 uses rosin bag but does not wipe fingers off after doing so. Ruling – This is permitted. Review Rule 6-2-2c.
- Play – Team A is batting with one out and R1 on first base, B3 hits a ground ball that goes untouched to F7. F7 throws the ball over F6’s head allowing R1 to advance to third base. F3 fields the throw and tosses the ball to F1 who is in the circle as R1 is on third base and B3 has returned to first base. F1 with possession of the ball in the circle turns their back on B3 at first base and B3 comes off the base and advances to second base. After B3 leaves their base R1 then also takes a step toward home. Team B’s coach insists this is a violation of the look-back rule and both B3 and R1 should be ruled out. Team A’s coach says that the pitcher made a play on R1 so both runners are allowed to leave their bases. RULING: By rule Team A’s coach is correct that a runner would not be called out if a play is made on another runner and a fake throw is considered a play. However, it is umpire judgement if the actions of F1 constitute a play being made. If F1 simply turned their back on B3 and looked at R1 as they were moving back toward the pitching plate while in possession of the ball within the circle this would not be considered making a play on R1. If F1 did not make a play on a runner, B3 would be in violation of the look-back rule. The ball would be dead and B3 would be ruled out. Since the ball is dead when B3 violated the look-back rule, R1 is not out for leaving their base. Only one runner, the one who left their base first, may be called out for violating the look-back rule with the other runners being returned to the last base touched. (8-7-3 Penalty and Exception)
- Play – B5 is scheduled to be the lead-off batter in the inning. As Team A’s pitcher is throwing their warm-up pitches both B5 and B6 are outside of the dugout swinging their bats to warm up. The umpire informs the team that only one batter is allowed out swinging a bat in between innings while the pitcher is warming up and that player needs to be in the on-deck circle while doing so. RULING: Correct ruling. B5 is scheduled to be the first batter of the inning but they do not become a batter until they are entitled to occupy one of the batter’s boxes. They are not allowed to occupy one of the batter’s boxes while the pitcher is throwing warm up pitches. This is evident by this statement in rule 2-5-3 “A single on-deck batter shall remain in the on-deck circle while the opposing pitcher is warming up.” Since they have not become a batter yet, B5 is considered the on-deck batter until play is ready to begin for that half inning. At this point they are entitled to occupy a batter’s box making them the batter and the next player in the lineup is now able to exit the dugout and enter the on-deck circle. As listed in 3-6-6 note other players can participate in throwing or running activities during this time designated for the pitcher to throw their warm-up pitches but again based on the rules cited only one player can warm up swinging a bat in between innings and they shall do this in the on deck circle. (2-5-1, 2-5-3, 3-6-6)
- Play – Team A is batting with R1 on first base and no outs, B2 hits a ground ball up the middle. F6 makes a diving play on the ball near second base but on the third base side of the base. The ball bounces off their outstretched glove and F4 who was moving toward second base for the possible play at second base dives back toward first base to attempt to gain control of the ball and R1 who is sliding into second base makes contact with F4 before F4 secures the ball. The umpire rules this obstruction by F4 as they were not making the initial play on the batted ball and did not have possession of the ball when they impeded R1’s progress. Team B’s coach argues that they were fielding a batted ball, and the correct call should be interference on R1. RULING: Correct ruling by the umpire. F6 made the initial play on the batted ball, if F6 was still attempting to gain control of the batted ball within a step and a reach of the spot of initial contact they would still be considered making an initial play on the batted ball. However, since F6 is no longer attempting to field the batted ball and they deflected the ball, F4 is not considered to be making an initial play on a batted ball. In this case since F4 was not making the initial play on a batted ball and they impeded the runner without possession of the ball they are guilty of obstruction. Also, since the ball was deflected R1 would have to intentionally contact the ball or intentionally interfere with the fielder to be guilty of interference. (2-35, 2-46-3c, 8-4-3b, 8-6-10d, 8-6-12)
- Play – In a continuation of the above play, after the umpire signaled obstruction, R1 is standing on second base and B2 is on first base as F4 tosses the ball to F1. Prior to F1 entering the circle R1 is confused and leaves second base heading toward the first base dugout thinking they were ruled out on the play. As R1 is a few steps toward first base F1 now enters the circle and the coaches tell R1 to get back on the base, so R1 stops and returns to second base. F1 never made a play on either runner and B2 remained on first base during this time. Team B’s coach asks if R1 violated the look-back rule. RULING: Since the runner left the base prior to the look-back rule going into effect (F1 was not within the pitcher’s circle) they still have the ab bility to stop once then immediately return or advance to the next base. R1 only stopped once when the look-back rule was in effect and then advanced back to second base, they did not violate the look-back rule. (8-7 Articles 1-3)
- Play – B1 squares to bunt. As the pitch comes in it hits B1 in the chest completely in the batter’s box. The umpire rules that B1 was no longer attempting to bunt when they were hit and B1 is awarded first base. RULING: Correct ruling as described. Any time a batter is hit with a pitched ball the ball becomes dead. There are then three options for the result of the play. 1) If any of the following occur the ball is dead and the batter is charged with a strike, if it is strike three the batter is out. If the batter: a. Swings at the pitch. b. Attempts to bunt the pitch. c. Is hit with a pitch that is in the strike zone or their actions prevent the ball from entering the strike zone. 2) If none of the items listed above occur and the pitch is completely within the batter’s box the ball is dead and the batter is awarded first base. They are not required to attempt to avoid being hit, but they may not make an obvious attempt to get hit by the pitch. 3) If none of the items in the first option occur and the ball is not entirely within the batter’s box and the batter made an attempt to avoid being hit, they are awarded first base. If no attempt is made to avoid being hit, the batter is awarded a ball and remains at bat unless it is ball four. As soon as the batter is hit by a pitched ball the umpire should rule a dead ball. Then the umpire must judge which of the three options listed apply to the situation and enforce the proper penalty/effect to the play. (2-8-2, 7-2-1 g & h, 8-1-2 b & c) It should also be noted that the batter’s hands are NOT to be considered part of the bat; they are a part of the batter’s body and are enforced the same as if it hit any other part of the batter. If the batter is hit on the hands while any of the items listed in option 1 are true it would be a dead ball strike. If they are hit on the hands and none of the items in option 1 are true, then either option 2 or 3 would be applied to the situation. Lastly, this is true when the pitched ball hits the batter’s hands or any part of their body first. If the ball hits the batter’s hands or body and then the bat it is a possibly hit by pitch situation and this same line of consideration should be used to determine the proper outcome of the play. However, if the ball hits the bat first and then the batter’s hands, or any part of the batter while still in the batter’s box the result of the play is a dead ball, foul ball. (2-24-1f)